HMV Celebrated Pie Day

Pie Day

Jalandhar March 15 (Jaswinder Singh Azad)- The PG Department of Mathematics of Hans Raj Mahila Maha Vidyalaya Jalandhar celebrated π-day (Pie Day) and International Mathematics day. On this occasion, Mathematics Department organized (under DBT Star scheme) a Poster Making and Power-Point Presentation competition under the able guidance of Principal Prof. Dr. (Mrs.) Ajay Sareen who always motivated to hold such events . Dr Anjana Bhatia, Co-ordinator DBT Star Scheme, Dean Innovations addressed the students and encouraged the girls to rise more in STEM as researchers. Mrs. Navroop Kaur, Dean Youth Welfare motivated the students to participate in these kind of events.

Dr. Gagandeep, Head of Mathematics department introduced about the event and encouraged the students to pursue for research using the softwares Mathematica and MATLAB which are highly used softwares for numerical computations. Power point presentation was given by the students by using various softwares and their applications in variety of fields. Dr. Gagandeep was over-all incharge of the day. Dr. Deepali and Ms. Charanjit were In-charges for Poster Making competition and Dr. Gaurav Verma and Mrs. Geeta Sharma were In-charges for Power-Point Presentation competition.

14 teams participated in Poster Making competition

14 teams participated in Poster Making competition and 9 teams were participated in Power-Point Presentation competition in which students presented the importance of Mathematics in varied disciplines and importance of Pi. Dr. Gagandeep welcomed Principal Dr. Ajay Sareen with a green planter. In Poster Presentation competition Simardeep of Bsc ( sem 6 got first prize, Akriti of M.Sc (Mathematics) sem 4 got second prize and Jashmeen and Komal of BSc sem 4 got third prize and Bhanvi of B.Sc Sem 6 got consolation prize.

In power point presentation competition Rajdeep Kaur of Bsc Sem 6 got 1st position, Priyanka of B.Sc Sem6 and Palak and Naman of B.Sc Sem 2 both teams got 2nd position and Gaurvi of B.Sc Sem 6 stood at third position. Principal Prof. (Dr.) Mrs. Ajay Sareen and Philanthropist Sh. Sudhir Sharma congratulated the winners and faculty members of the department.

By admin

Related Post