Lyallpur Khalsa College organizes Mock Parliament

Lyallpur Khalsa College

Jalandhar March 2 (Jaswinder Singh Azad)- P.G. Department of Political Science & NSS Units, Lyallpur Khalsa College, Jalandhar in collaboration with the Nehru Yuva Kendra, Jalandhar organized District Level Mock Parliament Session. Principal Dr. Jaspal Singh was present as Chief Guest. He in his address encouraged the students to look beyond their textual knowledge and establish a relationship between theory and application of learned concepts. He added that these programs are perfect platform for the students to explore their skills of debating and articulation.

Dr. Anu Kumari, Head of Department Political Science informed that the objective of this Mock Parliament was to evaluate the knowledge of the participants within academics and to inculcate the democratic principles and values for better understanding of political phenomenon through this student friendly platform. During this program, students played the roles of ruling and opposition party. There were total 40 participants in this program out of which 19 played the roles of Prime Minister, Home Minister, Speaker, Finance Minister, different cabinet ministers, leader of opposition and elected representatives of different parties.

From all the speakers, three best speakers were chosen. The first position was secured by Shivani Kumari, second by Yogita and third by Mubashir Manzoor. They were duly honoured with mementos, incentives and certificates. Later, Dr. Anu Kumari delivered vote of thanks and congratulated the winners and participants. A Nukkad Natak on the life, principles and contributions of Dr. BR Ambedkar was also presented by Ekta Kala Manch, Phillour as a tribute to the chairman of drafting committee of Indian Constitution. Prof. Satpal Singh, Chief Program Officer, N.S.S. conducted the stage. During the event, Dr. Ajitpal Singh, Kirandeep Kaur and Jagdeep Singh were also present.

By admin

Related Post