DAV University organizes National Science Day

By admin Feb29,2024 #DAV University
DAV University

Jalandhar February 29 (Jaswinder Singh Azad)- DAV University held a two-day festivity to mark National Science Day. The theme of the event was “Indigenous Technologies for Viksit Bharat”. The event was supported by the Punjab State Council for Science and Technology (PSCST), the National Council for Science and Technology Communication (NCTSC), and the Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India.

National Science Day, annually commemorated on February 28, pays homage to the Nobel Prize-winning Physicist Sir CV Raman, honouring the day in 1928 when his groundbreaking discovery of the Raman Effect emerged. Sir CV Raman’s achievement marked a historic moment, establishing him as the first Asian to receive a Nobel Prize in any branch of science.

The event included inter-departmental competitions attracting the participation of around 500 students.Engaging competitions, including Rangoli, Poster presentation, Start-up Idea exploration, Best Out of the Waste exhibition, debate competition, and Model-Making, showcased the multifaceted talents of the student community.

The participation of Mr. Aatman Jamwal, a 10-year-old prodigy captivated the audience with his innovative ideas during the poster presentation session. This demonstration underscored the inclusive and inventive spirit thriving at DAV University.

Dr Manoj Kumar, Vice-Chancellor of the University expressed gratitude to PSCST, DST, and NCTSC for their unwavering support. He congratulated the winners and emphasized the pivotal role of science and technology in national development.


Start-up Problem Statement Exploration: Armaan Singh and Saurabh (Faculty of Agriculture):First; Namish Chopra, Aarchi, and Mania Dogra (Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences):Second; Manjot Singh, Priyanshu Mohan (Department of Zoology), ShrutiPuri (Department of Chemistry):Third. Debate: Mansi (Department of Microbiology) and Armaan (Department of Biotechnology):first; Raghav, Sahil (Department of Education): second; Nishnat (Department of Computer Science Applications), Gorang (Department of Physics) and Diljit (Department of Chemistry): third.

Best out of Waste Competition: Lovepreet and Amandeep Kaur (Department of Zoology): first; Gagandeep Kaur, Khusboo (Faculty of Agricultural Sciences): second and Vansh Salaria, Gaganpal Singh (Department of Computer Science Engineering); Poster Presentation: Pratibha and Arshpreet (Department of Physics), Aatman Jamwal (Delhi Public School): first; Gurleen, Palak (Department of Biotechnology): second and Sakshi, Akanksha (Department of Botany): third. Quiz: Sahil Choudhary, Rakesh, Mitali (Department of Chemistry): first; Simranpreet Kaur (Department of CSE &AI), Mohit Kataria (Department of CSE &AI), Mania (Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences): second; Varun Dogra, Himanshu Jardyal, Aryan Agithotri (Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences): third.

By admin

Related Post